A Change of Seasons

In the fall of 1997, I moved in with one of my best friends, because I was in the unenviable position of being unable to repair my broken car and living almost 20 miles from work. Fortunately, his parents were sympathetic to my situation. (I helped around the house more than he did, too! J)

Shortly after I moved in with him, I composed this poem. Ironically, I wrote it on his birthday that year. I vaguely remember his party, so I have no idea why I was writing poetry in his room while he had a party.

Sometime in the intervening months since my last major poem, I’d switched back to using rhyme in my poems. I actually enjoyed the way this poem was structured and rhymed. To this day, I enjoy reading it, if I may be so immodest. Here is…

    Spring Winds

The spring winds lift me up,
Carrying the promise of tomorrow.
I will succeed. This I know.

The summer breeze blows warmly on my face.
I know innately that something’s out of place.
Where’s the fulfillment that I promised?
Drifting away on the wind’s sweet kiss.

The autumn’s chilling air stings my nose.
As the pine needles turn a dark shade of rose.
Why did I let my one chance slip away?
I continue through leaves already decayed.

The winter gales pull at my life.
I sit and await the end of my strife.
Odd it is, how I now see clear
When the end is so very near.

Anthony Adkins, 09/11/1997

 

Leave a Reply

